Eventually, on the morning of June 18, two new crews presented themselves to the Wing Commander Peter Jennings, Commanding Officer of the 207 Bomber Squadron. They were the crew of Sgt Badge and the crew of Sgt F. (who would only be assigned two missions with 207 Sqn). They were assigned to the “A Flight” of the squadron, under the responsibility of Squadron Leader Bowes and began their first tour of duty of 30 war missions.
Langar is a village located 12 miles east of the city of Nottingham, in a picturesque rural landscape named Belvoir valley, bounded on the south by the Stathern’s Hills.
In 1940 work began on an Airfield to the north of the village of Harby. The airfield is a Class "A", with three runways capable of receiving heavy bombers, a running track around the last and clearances. The main north-
Three T2 hangars were built for the maintenance of bombers plus more than 500 different buildings able to house some 2,000 people for the proper functioning of the base. The 207 squadron was the first unit based Langar.
Langar facilities were shared with a repair shop of the AVRO factory, built west of the airfield. For a time, test flights were made by pilots of the squadron 207
This airbase was further developed and used after the war by the Royal Canadian Air Force before being finally closed in October 1963. A. V. Roe, meanwhile, left Langar in 1968.
Source : 207 Squadron RAF langar 1942-